APC’s Olawuyi wins Kwara bye-election

Ismaila Sanni
Ismaila Sanni
Ogun guber: We won fair and square –APC

The All Progressives Congress, APC, candidate, Raheem Olawuyi, has won the bye election held on Saturday for the House of Representatives seat for Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero constituency in Kwara State.

Olawuyi’s victory was announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, at Irepodun Local Government Secretariat in Omu-Aran.

According to the Chief Returning Officer, Prof. Abimbola Adesoji, Olawuyi polled 21,236 votes to beat his closest contestant, Saheed Alatise, of the Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 18,095 votes.

The results show Labour Party polling 150, the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) 76 votes and UPN 42 votes.

- Advertisement -

Statistics, according to Adesoji, showed that out of the  40,930 total votes cast, valid votes were 39,599.

1,331 votes were rejected.

The election witnessed some malpractices bordering on over voting and snatching of ballot boxes.

The malpractices led to the voiding of votes in some areas.

Some of the polling units affected were in Irepodun Local Government Area of the constituency.

Some of the areas affected include Registration Area (RA) 02 of Esie-Ijan Ward, Oro Ward 1, RA 02, Polling Unit 01, Oro Ward 2, RA 10 and Polling Unit 01.

Some official of INEC were also wounded in the course of ballot boxes snatching.

The bye-election was a significant test of might by the APC and PDP in the state.

APC was out to prove to PDP that the influence of Saraki in the state was over.

On the other hand, the PDP tried to prove that with the influence of Saraki, it could win the state.

Share this Article