Senate confirms Owasanoye as ICPC chair

Ismaila Sanni
Ismaila Sanni
ICPC boss rallies global action against Illicit Financial Flows

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of Mr. Bolaji Owasanoye as the Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission, ICPC.

Until his appointment, 54 years old Owasanoye was the Executive Secretary of the Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption, PACAC.

He was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari who submitted his name to the Senate for ratification.

His confirmation on Thursday followed the recommendation contained in the report of the Chukwuka Utazi-led Senate Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes.

- Advertisement -

The Senate confirmed other members of the ICPC board.

They are: Grace N. Chinda (Member (Delta, South-South);  Okolo Titus M (Member) (Enugu, South-East); Obiora Igwedebia (Member)(Anambra, South-East); Olubukola Balogun (Member) (Lagos, South-West); Adams Bello (Member) (Katsina, North-West); Hannatu Muhammed ( Member) (Jigawa, North-West); Abdullahi Maikano Saidu (Member) (Niger, north-central) and Yahaya Umar Dauda (Member) (Nassarawa, North-Central).

The Senate President wished them all success in their duties.

“I would like congratulate the Chairman and members. This is a very important Commission in governance and in our fight against corruption.

“I wish them a successful tenure and hope they carry out the job before them in a transparent and professional manner devoid of politics,” he said.

Share this Article