Panel submits report over alleged fraud by NHIS boss, Yusuf

Ezekiel Johnson
Ezekiel Johnson

The report of investigation into the crisis that rocked the National Health Insurance Scheme, NHIS, over alleged fraud by its Executive Secretary, NHIS, Dr. Usman Yusuf, has been submitted.

The report was submitted on Monday by the chairman of the probe panel, Dr. Bukar Hassan, to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha.

The seven-man panel was set up in November by the Federal Government to probe, among other things, the situation that led to the crisis between the board of the NHIS and Yusuf.

While receiving the report, Mustapha gave the assurance that the content of the report would be made public soon.

His words:  “I am delighted to receive the report of the panel on NHIS from the Chairman and members who were assigned to look at the immediate and remote causes of the conflict that engulfed the NHIS.

“The panel was earlier given two weeks to submit its report; it was, however, extended due to the nature of the work and the need to address core issues.

“I receive this report with deep sense of appreciation and I assure you that the report would be expeditiously processed for implementation.’’

Speaking during his presentation of the report, Hassan stated that the report contained some recommendations that required urgent attention.

He explained that his panel was painstaking in carrying out its duties in order to help improve the situation in the NHIS.

“In the course of the work, the panel had to interface with stakeholders including the Minister of Health, the Permanent Secretary, Chairman of Governing council, Unions, the National Assembly, among others.

“It is our belief and aspiration that our recommendations will reposition the scheme and proffer solutions to the challenges that have hindered the scheme in achieving its laudable objectives,’’ he said.

The Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Adewole presented at the occasion by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health, Mr Abdulaziz Abdullahi.

Other members of the panel are Dr. Emmanuel Meribole; Adewale Owolo; Shamsuddeen Bello; Ishaq Yahaya; Dr Ekanem John Udoh and Mrs. Jummai Idakwo.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *