Ogun APC congress: No petition received yet, says appeal committee

APC clears Ekiti State council poll, PDP kicks

The All Progressive Congress, APC, Appeal Committee for Ogun State congress has given 48 hours to aggrieved members of the party to submit their petitions or hold their peace.

This is coming as the Patrick Obahiagbon-led committee begins sitting and revealed that it was yet to receive any petition after the congress held on Saturday October 16, 2021.

Announcing that it would begin sitting as from 10 a.m. on Tuesday, October 26, the chairman of the committee promised to hold on for 48 hours before concluding that there was no petition.

The committee set up by the Mai Buni-led National Caretaker Committee is made up of five members led by  Obahiagbon.

The five-man committee is to receive and address petitions from aggrieved members of the party over the recent state congresses, in order to ensure equity, justice and guarantee integrity of the congress.

The members of the appeal committee include Patrick Obahiagbon as chairman and Barrister C.J Chiwuba as Secretary.

Others are Muazu Bawa Rajua, Mr. Aboge-Isaac Felix and Jubrin Akowe as members.

Obahiagbon, while speaking at a press briefing held at the APC secretariat in Abeokuta on Monday, said the committee would only wait for 48 hours and if there was no petitions, would submit its reports as such.

He emphasised that the committee would begin sitting at the Conference Hotel, Abeokuta, by 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday to receive petitions from members who were dissatisfied with the outcome of the congress.

“It is to be noted that in all cases where party congresses had taken place, Appeal Committees, have been subsequently empowered by the Caretaker Extra Ordinary and Convention Planning Committee of the APC, in line with our party’s constitution, to review the congresses with a view to ensuring justice, equity, fair play and guaranteeing the integrity of the entire process,” Obahiagbon said.