2019: Buhari inaugurates women, youths presidential campaign team Thursday

IWD: Aisha Buhari speaks on mass abduction of girls
Aisha Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari will on Thursday inaugurate the All Progressives Congress, APC, Women and Youths Presidential Campaign team for the 2019 election.

The inauguration will be held at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The campaign team is headed by the wife of the  president, Mrs. Aisha Buhari, with Mrs. Dolapo Osinbajo, wife of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, as co-chairperson.

The date of the inauguration was made known on Tuesday in a statement issued by the Director of Information, Office of the Wife of the President, Mr Suleiman Haruna.

Other members of the campaign team are APC National Woman Leader, Hajiya Salamatu Baiwa; Mrs Adejoke Adefulire, Vice Chairman (South); Mrs. Mairo Al-Makura, Vice Chairman (North), and Barr. Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagu, Deputy National Coordinator (South).

Also in the team are Hajiya Binta Muazu, Deputy National Coordinator (North), Mrs. Rashida Yahaya Bello, Zonal Coordinator (North Central); Mrs Hadiza Mohammad Abubakar, (North East), Dr. Zainab Atiku Bagudu, (North West) and Mrs Nkechi Rochas Okorocha (South East).

Mrs. Florence Abiola Ajimobi, Mrs Judith Chibuike Amaechi, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Administration, Dr Hajo Sani, are also members of the campaign team.

Artists and celebrities from Nollywood and Kannywood,  technocrats, politicians, academicians and the business class are also in the team.

The advisory council set up for the campaign team is made up of the Minister of Youth and Sports, Mr Solomon Dalung; Comptroller General of Customs, retired Col. Hameed Ali; retired IG-P Suleiman Abba; retired Brig.-Gen. Jafaru Isa; retired Gen. Buba Marwa; former Governor of Abia State, Orji Ozu Kalu; Chief Sullivan Chime, and Sen. Ali Modu Sherrif.

Others are Dr. Mohammed Mahmud; Dame Pauline Tallen; Hajiya Naajatu Mohammed; Prof. Pat Utomi; Dr Nasiru Ladan; Prince Tonye Princewill; Festus Keyamo (SAN); Muiz Banire (SAN); Amb. Justice Muhammadu Dodo; Amb. Baba Jidda; Amb. Deborah Iliya; Amb. Suzanne Aderonke Folarin; Amb. Ayuba Ngbako; Mr Terry Waya; Alhaji Mahmud Shinkafi; and Alhaji Ibrahim Dasuki-Nakande.

A Directorate of Operations, according to the statement, was set up and made up of all APC Women Leaders at all levels; all APC Women/Female Heads of government agencies and parastatals; all APC female candidates; all APC Youth Leaders at all levels; and all elected officials of APC at all levels, among others.

The Directorate of Contact and Mobilisation is headed by  Hon. Nasiru Ali Ahmed, while the Directorate of Strategic Planning would be headed by Dr. Garba Abari, the Director-General of National Orientation Agency (NOA), it said.

The Directorate of Youth Mobilisation is to be headed by Mr. Mohammed Jibirilla, with Dr. AbdulMumin Jibril as the Director of a 71-member Media and Strategic Communication of the team, and Mr Sony Marshal Harry as the Director of Special Duties.

It added that the Directorate of Logistics for the campaign team would be led by Mr. Mohammed Jibril, while the Directorate of Creativity and Entertainment has about 170 members comprising majorly Nollywood and Kannywood representatives.