2019: Amosun’s loyalists dump APC for APM, vow to work for Akinlade

David Adenekan
David Adenekan
Amosun declares for president, promises to prioritise security

No fewer than 26 members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in Ogun State defected to the Allied People’s Movement, APM, on Monday.

They are loyalists of the Governor of Ogun State, Ibikunle Amosun, aspiring to vie for different political posts in the general election

It would be recalled that Amosun is in disagreement with the leadership of the APC over the choice of Mr. Dapo Abiodun as the Ogun State APC governorship candidate for the 2019 general election.

Amosun’s choice, Adekunle Akinlade, did not make it.

- Advertisement -

The APC members who have just left for APM, however, said their move had nothing to do with Amosun, as he remained in the APC.

They vowed to work for the emergence of Akinlade, Amosun’s choice as the governor of the state in the coming election.

Speaking about their defection, the politicians said they were irked by their rejection despite winning the primaries for various positions.

Mr. Lamidi Olatunji who spoke for others on the reason for their action said:  “After extensive and due consultations with our elders, members and stakeholders in the APC in Ogun State, we have come to the inevitable conclusion to seek the general mandate of our people in the 2019 elections on the platform of the Allied People’s Movement.

“We wish to state that this is without prejudice to the progressive ideals which have endeared our candidature and our political group to the good people of Ogun State.”

He added:  “We regret that Mr. President’s efforts were frustrated by the forces that are hell-bent in taking the South West back to the dark age of slavery where unelected kingpins direct the affairs of the people.

“We are committed to the second term of President Muhammadu Buhari and we are determined to deliver Ogun State to him in the Presidential election, come February 16, 2019, by the grace of God.

“We are going to work tirelessly for the election of Adekunle Akinlade who was overwhelmingly elected as the governorship candidate of the APC, but, denied the ticket by the same forces that hijacked our tickets.”

Share this Article